Broccoli mac-and-cheese mini-muffins

So normally my posts involve me trying to convince Hannah, my incredibly anti-vegetable roommate, to try things outside of her comfort zone.

However, I decided to go home to Orlando this weekend, and with Hannah and Becca back in Gainesville that makes cooking for my roommates a little tough.

So, I thought to myself, who else is known for being incredibly picky?

The answer: little kids.

Therefore, with my parents away Saturday night at a wedding, I made these broccoli mac-and-cheese mini-muffins for my ten-year-old sister Lauren Poulin and her friend.

Shown here is some of the broccoli mac-and-cheese mini-muffins, served with extra steamed broccoli florets. The kids enjoyed the fact that they were bite-sized, and they included a healthy serving of vegetables too.

 

Recipe:

To make this dish, I remembered seeing mac-and-cheese muffins in a Buzzfeed listicle once and thinking “Hey, that’d be a cool thing to try.”

So I started out googling different recipes similar to the one I had seen.

I ended up creating an amalgamation-type recipe based on the ingredients and kitchen supplies available, and the desire to use broccoli as my vegetable.

I chose broccoli as the add-in for this meal, as it is well-known for tasting best when covered in cheese and I have seen it included in frozen mac-and-cheese options sold at the grocery store.

The final product ended up making about 36 mini-muffins.

Ingredients

To re-create this meal, you’ll need:

  • 1 box of mac-and-cheese (I used Amy’s brand, but really any should work)
  • 1 package of uncooked broccoli florets (14 oz.)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Method

  1. Prepare your mac-and-cheese according to the directions on the box. Let it cool.
  2. Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  3. Stir in one beaten egg to the mac-and-cheese.
  4. Stir in 1/2 cup of the shredded cheddar cheese, reserve the rest.
  5. Steam the broccoli florets
    1. Steam about 1/3 of the bag at a time by placing in a microwave safe bowl with 2 tablespoons of water, and then microwaving covered for 2-3 minutes on high.
  6. Take about 3/4 of the broccoli florets, chop off the stems and then dice. Set the extra aside to eat as is.
  7. Mix the diced broccoli into mac-and-cheese until evenly distributed.
  8. Grease the mini-muffin tin with butter (or spray with Pam), and then spoon the mac-and cheese mixture into to the pan, and sprinkle cheddar cheese on top.
  9. Bake in oven at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

Reactions:

Well, for starters, my little sister is basically the weirdest child on the planet, completely rejecting the age-honored tradition of kids hating to eat their veggies, broccoli especially.

Instead, Lauren asked for her second serving to be the extra steamed broccoli on its own, sans both mac and cheese.

That being said, both she and her friend finished everything put on their plates, so clearly this recipe hit its mark.

“I liked that it had mac-and-cheese in muffin-sizes, and that it was like, healthy too,” Lauren said.

Beyond the Blog:

For other the recipes I drew from, check out these links:

  1. Easy Mac and Cheese Muffins from AllRecipes.com
  2. Macaroni & Cheese Cups from Kraft Recipes
  3. Broccoli Cheese Bites from Playpartypin.com
  4. Cheesy Broccoli-Bacon Mac Bites from Kraft Recipes
Leave a Reply

