Much ado about mushrooms, sautéed with onions and served over pasta

So my roommate Hannah returned back to Gainesville on Wednesday after her five-day-long trip home, and, after greetings were out of the way, she decided to catch up on my blog.

All of a sudden as I sat in the kitchen making my own dinner for the night, I heard a shout.

“You made a spaghetti dish without me,” Hannah exclaimed, upset.

She was of course, referring to the the spaghetti squash I made in my previous post.

As it so happens, I had been preparing another spaghetti dish, this time actual pasta served with sautéed mushrooms and onions.

I offered to make extras to share, and thus this blog post was born.

Shown here is the spaghetti, tossed with freshly sautéed mushrooms and onions. This dish is a simple but tasty favorite of mine which I have been making for about as long as I have known how to cook.

Recipe:

You will need:

  • 1 package of sliced baby portabella mushrooms (8 oz.)
  • 1 medium white onion
  • 1 box of uncooked spaghetti noodles
  • Butter
  • Water

I sautéed the mushrooms separate from the onions, thinking that I could serve them to our other roommate Becca over the left over spaghetti squash. Which didn’t work out, but that’s a point I will elaborate upon later.

The point is, the directions for sautéing your mushrooms and onions are pretty much the same, and they can be cooked either together or separately.

           Sautéed mushrooms and onions

  1. Wash and dice your medium onion.
  2. Wash the pre-sliced mushrooms.
  3. Place the mushrooms and onions in a skillet on the stovetop with olive oil and butter. Sauté on high heat until they start sizzling, then reduce to low heat.
  4. Allow to simmer for 15-20 minutes, or until they have reached your desired level of tenderness.
           Pasta
  1. Fill a tall pot with water. Heat on high.
  2. Once the water begins to boil, add your spaghetti noodles. I usually break them in half first so that they cook quicker.
  3. Cook for 8-10 minutes until tender and then drain.
  4. After draining, toss pasta with the saluted mushrooms and onions then serve.

Reactions:

Okay, so do you remember how earlier on I said sautéing the mushrooms and onions separately didn’t work out? Well, it turns out Becca actually can’t have mushrooms either, so this meal was a miss for her since she ended up not being able to eat it.  This was a faux-pas for which I take full blame for however, as just because mushrooms hadn’t been mentioned before when Becca and I discussed the ingredients in other dishes, I assumed they were safe for her to eat.

Now, onto Hannah.

As excited as she was about the fact that she would be getting pasta, she was probably equally terrified of having to eat the mushrooms.

In fact, Hannah said that, as fungi, mushrooms were one of two main foods she tries to avoid at all costs, the other being venison.

However, after a lot of pleading and a bit of bribery we finally reached a compromise and I convinced her to try one, tiny baby portabella mushroom slice.

“The mushroom was weird,” Hannah said. “Of course, I couldn’t taste it because I shoved a forkful of pasta in my mouth, but it was weirdly chewy. Disturbingly so.”

Leave a Reply

